Important Information

  • Deadline for poster abstract submission
    December 1,2018
  • Deadline for earlybird registration
    December 1,2018
  • Workshop begins
    December 17,2018
Plenary Speakers
Plenary Speaker : Prof. Leon Chua
Title: Five non-volatile memristor enigmas solved
 Leon Chua is widely known for his invention of the Memristors and the Chua’s Circuit. His research has been recognized internationally through numerous major awards, including 16 honorary doctorates from major universities in Europe and Japan, and 7 USA patents. He was elected as Fellow of IEEE in 1974, a foreign member of the European Academy of Sciences (Academia Europea ) in 1997, a foreign member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2007, and an honorary fellow of the Institute of Advanced Study at the Technical University of Munich, Germany in 2012. He was honored with many major prizes, including the Frederick Emmons Award in 1974, the IEEE Neural Networks Pioneer Award in 2000, the first IEEE Gustav Kirchhoff Award in 2005, the International Francqui Chair (Belgium ) in 2006, the Guggenheim Fellow Award in 2010, Leverhulme Professor Award ( United Kingdom ) during 2010-2011, and the EU Marie Curie Fellow Award,2013.

Plenary Speaker : R. Stanley Williams
Title: Finding the Connections Among Computation, Dynamics, Physics and Materials
R. Stanley Williams recently retired from Hewlett Packard Labs in Palo Alto, CA. For the past 20 years, his primary scientific research has been in the areas of electronic, photonic and ionic nanotechnologies, and now encompasses neuroarchitectonics, which includes computation, chaos, and complexity. In 2008, a team of researchers he led demonstrated the first intentional memristor, the fourth fundamental electronic circuit element predicted by Prof. Leon Chua in 1971. Williams has received recognition for business, scientific and academic achievement, including being named one of the top 10 visionaries in the field of electronics by EETimes, the 2014 IEEE Outstanding Engineering Manager Award, the 2009 EETimes Innovator of the Year ACE Award, the 2007 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal for contributions to Chemistry, the 50th Anniversary Laureate Lecturer on Electrical and Optical Materials for the TMS, the 2004 Herman Bloch Medal for Industrial Research, the inaugural Scientific American 50 Top Technology leaders in 2002, and the 2000 Julius Springer Award for Applied Physics.  He was a co-organizer and co-editor of the workshop and book “Vision for Nanotechnology in the 21st Century”, respectively, that led to the establishment of the U. S. National Nanotechnology Initiative in 2000.

Plenary Speaker : Prof. Kang L. Wang
Title: From the Turing to Topological Quantum Computer
Dr. Kang L. Wang is currently Distinguished Professor and the Raytheon Chair Professor in Physical Science and Electronics in the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).  He is affiliated with the Departments of ECE, MSE and Physics.  He received his MS and PhD degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his BS degree from National Cheng University (Taiwan).  He is a Guggenheim Fellow, Fellows of American Physical Society and IEEE, and a Laureate of Industrial Technology Research Institute of Taiwan.  He is an Academician of Academia Sinica.  His awards include the IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal, the IEEE J.J. Ebers award for electron devices, SRC Technical Excellence Award, the Pan Wen-Yuan Award, the Chinese American Historymakers Award, and others.  He served as the editor-in-chief of IEEE TNANO, editor of Artech House, editors for J of Spins and deputy editor of AAAS Science Advances, etc. His research areas include topological matters and topological quantum computer; spintronics and nonvolatile electronics; low dissipation devices; molecular beam epitaxy.

Plenary Speaker : Prof. Giacomo Indiveri
Title: Neuromorphic circuits for building autonomous cognitive agents
Giacomo Indiveri is a Professor at the Faculty of Science of the University of Zurich, Switzerland, and director of the Institute of Neuroinformatics of the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich. He obtained an M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. degree in computer science from the University of Genoa, Italy. He was a post-doctoral research fellow in the Division of Biology at Caltech and at the Institute of Neuroinformatics of the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich. He holds a "habilitation" in Neuromorphic Engineering at the ETH Zurich Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering. He was awarded an ERC Starting Grant on "Neuromorphic processors" in 2011 and an ERC Consolidator Grant on neuromorphic cognitive agents in 2016. His research interests lie in the study of neural computation, with a particular focus on spike-based learning and selective attention mechanisms. His research and development activities focus on the full custom hardware implementation of real-time sensory-motor systems using analog/digital neuromorphic circuits and emerging VLSI technologies.
  • Contacts

    Phone: +86-10-62753128
    Fax: +86-10-62753128